The Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Commission

About the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Commission

Following the 7.1 magnitude earthquake in Canterbury on 4 September 2010, the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Commission (the Commission) was created under the Canterbury Earthquake Response and Recovery Act 2010 (the Act), which was passed on 14 September 2010.

The Recovery Commission has since been disestablished.

The Commissioners

The Commission comprised the mayors of each of the three territorial authorities (Christchurch City Council, Waimakariri District Council and Selwyn District Council), and four government appointees including an Environment Canterbury (ECan) Commissioner and an independent chair.

The commissioners were as follows:

  • Murray Sherwin (Chair)
  • Dame Margaret Bazley (Deputy Chair)
  • David Ayers
  • Arihia Bennett
  • Kelvin Coe
  • David Hopkins
  • Bob Parker


The functions of the Commission as set out in the Act were to:

  • Provide advice to the relevant Minister in relation to Orders in Council (Orders) made under the Act;
  • Provide advice in relation to prioritising resources and allocating funding; and
  • Provide a key contact point between central and local government in responding to and managing the recovery from the Canterbury Earthquake.