Earthquake assistance centres

The Avondale Earthquake Assistance Centre and Kaiapoi Earthquake Hub have both now closed. They provided information and assistance for red zone homeowners who were deciding on government offers to buy their properties.

They also:

  • gave updates on services such as roading, sewerage and water
  • helped connect people who had earthquake-related housing, legal and/or insurance issues with services
  • shared material from official agencies and community organisations, including notices and contact details.

The Centres include staff from Councils, Canterbury Earthquake Temporary Accommodation Service (CETAS), Earthquake Commission (EQC), Community Law Canterbury, some insurance firms and some banks.

All of the partner agencies at the Earthquake Assistance Centres have agreed to continue to offer face to face meetings with residents and, where appropriate, multi-party meetings from their respective locations across wider Christchurch.

Below is a list of these agencies involved and information on how people can continue to access these services:

Agency Phone Website
The Earthquake Commission 0800 DAMAGE
(0800 326 243)
Christchurch City Council 03 941 8999
Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority 0800 RING CERA
(0800 7464 2372)
Canterbury Temporary Accommodation Service 0800 673 227
Earthquake Support Co-ordination 0800 777 846  
IAG - State 0800 802 424
IAG - NZI 0800 694 222
Southern Response 0800 501 525
Community Law Canterbury 0508 CAN LAW
(0508 226 529)

If you have any questions please contact CERA by email or ring 0800 RING CERA (0800 7464 2372).